Fantasies for Nightmares: A Poem

fantasies-for-nightmares

Maybe my heart stopped beating the way it used to when I saw you

But that doesn’t mean I loved you any less.

Maybe my bulletproof walls kept shooting up like a defense mechanism

But that doesn’t mean I lost faith in our timelessness.

Maybe I cry every time you embrace me

But that’s only because I didn’t really know how it felt to be loved by someone else.

Maybe I shove you further and further away

Because the irony is that I don’t want to lose you in the sundering ashes.

Maybe you and I are just a lie I tell myself

Because it brings with it fantasies in the place of nightmares every night.

But now that you are here with me in our sheltered little paradise

I have realized that I never needed training wheels to fly.

– Rubani Kaur


Photography Credit: Everton Vila

Leave a comment