A Broken Belief of Twisted Feathers: A Poem

a-broken-belief-of-twisted-feathers

Often I find myself staring into empty spaces,

The only thoughts surfacing of all that I’ve lost,

Tears well up in eyes left unfilled all these years,

Unsullied whispers leave blemishes on panes of frost.

Fear of falling, crumbling and breaking down,

Chipped photo frames with faded photographs,

Lately I use caution when washing glass dishes,

And I’ve stopped filling pages with inane autographs.

There’s a difference between reading and writing poetry,

A stark divergence at what you look at and what you see.

I believe in things I haven’t seen with colored irises

Simply because I can foresee an actual future for me.

I relinquished a broken belief made up by my instincts

When life threw satiny feathers instead of sour lemons.

My pulsing arteries refused to surrender

To the atrocities unleashed by the serpent’s venom.

– Rubani Kaur


Photography Credit: Unknown

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Such a wonderful poem ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much. ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

