Family: A Poem

family

Was it ignorant or just carefree of me to not notice

The permanence of the creases on my father’s forehead until today?

Was it selfish or just powerless of me to let

My brother fall deeper and deeper into the abyss of obscurity?

Was it unkind or completely narcissistic of me to misconstrue

My mother’s silent pleas for some support as anger-fueled outbursts?

Have I failed at life so miserably that I couldn’t even

Be an unswerving shroud of respite for my family?

– Rubani Kaur


Photography Credit: Unknown

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Beautifully written!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much.

      Like

  2. Enigma says:

    No, absolutely not. At some point in my life even I thought of this. But maybe your smiling face gave them the strength to survive their darkest times!
    Sometimes in life, we don’t need to share other people’s pain, we need to live with and for them
    Enigma

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Really appreciate that, E. And I think that it is true as well. I just find it hard to believe that in my dark moments.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Enigma says:

        I understand. I am all ears if you need any. 🙂
        Enigma

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks a lot. Much appreciated. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  3. vidur sahdev says:

    Your presence itself, lends strength to them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are very kind. ☺

      Like

Leave a Reply

