Migratory Birds: A Poem

migratory-birds

I wake up to the sound of

The most profound croaking.

If I weren’t a poet

I would shoo the poor thing away,

But I suppose she is too

Beautifully ambiguous

To be waved away into

Another man’s backyard.

My backyard isn’t one of those

Embezzled with greenery and

Happiness,

But her arrival makes it

The greatest fool’s paradise.

The smog of the world

Fades into the backdrop

Of her brown-green feathers,

Scarlet lips and amber eye-bags.

She is the epitome of serenity.

But just like everything and

Everyone else

She too will fly away

To another man’s world

And make it his Shangri-La,

Not mine.

– Rubani Kaur


Photography Credit: Unknown

7 Comments Add yours

  1. eliza rudolf says:

    Well βœ’ pennedπŸ‘ŒπŸ‘ŒπŸ‘Œ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. 😊

      Like

  2. Thunder Poet says:

    Heyyyyyyyyy. πŸ˜€
    So, I just nominated you for the sunshine blogger award. I hope you’d be kind enough not to text me, “I WON’T DO THIS ANYMORE.”
    https://thunderpoet.wordpress.com/2017/04/07/whoa/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the nomination. 😊 I’ll try to work on it. Keyword: try

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thunder Poet says:

        Lol, just posted some crap for you….

        Liked by 1 person

  3. This poetry really has a hidden meaning!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel symbolism has never really been my strong suit. I’m happy that you were able to perceive what was underneath. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

