Blood Bound: A Poem

blood-bound

The Devil mailed me a letter.

Funnily enough I had almost given up.

I unglued the seal, unfolded the paper,

Read the words to a phantom.

‘Forgive me, I had been adjourning this conversation.

I realize now what you desire

And had you not bared your heart to me

I would not have seen your truth.

You showed me a universe

Where pain is inevitable,

Dead-ends are unavoidable,

Happiness is fictitious.

You aren’t a product of skin and tissue,

You are housing an entire cosmos within you.

So this is our pact, bound in blood.

I assure you liberation

And admission into my incredible hell.

The days might be your nemesis

But in my world, you can be nocturnal.

Your perfection can shield me and my world,

So let your pain save a myriad of damned souls.

And I swear with every fabric of my being

I’ll be the one to make you feel loved.’

I smiled and smeared crimson

All over his words.

– Rubani Kaur


Photography Credit: Unknown

3 Comments Add yours

  1. The days might be your nemesis

    But in my world, you can be nocturnal.

    I so love these lines

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot, Enigma. 😁

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The pleasure is all mine

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

