Much to Capture: A Poem

much-to-capture

Restless fingers tinker with the keyboard,

I type in an alphabet and empty the canvas,

The idea rests at the tip of my imagination,

“There’s so much to see, so much to capture.”

The dark days come when the brightness is at an all-time high

And the brightness is always, always high.

Do you also see the Sun shining at night,

Attempting to rekindle the orthodox sky?

The instant I hear a dog in the distance

I drop everything and rush outside.

Is it crazy that it matters to me who the intruder is

Or that I fear the Devil has finally arrived?

People tend to adore the scent of new books,

I choose to worship their every breath

As I sense the feel of an entire world in my hands

And decide whether to give it life… or death?

‘The world is your oyster,’ they tell me

But doesn’t that mean I’m stuck in a constant whorl

Where no matter which turn I take

I’ll still end up an isolated pearl?

– Rubani Kaur


Artwork Credit: Unknown

9 Comments Add yours

  1. As I sense the feel of an entire world in my hands

    And decide whether to give it life… or death?

    I loved these lines. You are a phenomenal poetess, Rubani

    Enigma

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, you’ve made my day! Thanks a lot. 😁

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You deserve it, every single bit of appreciation.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Wow, that’s too much appreciation for me to handle! You are very sweet.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. No I am not. It’s just that your write-ups are so relatable and the themes are of my liking. So I loved your posts!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Well, I appreciate it a lot. 😁😁

        Like

      5. DO check out my site, sometime.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Oh, definitely! ☺

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

