Palpability of Pain: A Poem

palpability-of-pain

Winter is the serpent that caressed

My hope and decapitated my dreams.

I anticipated its arrival regardless,

Because despite the agony it entails

It makes it easier to hide the mess.

Underneath the double, triple layers

Of sweaters no one knitted for me

And the canvas jackets that hang aimlessly,

I carry the palpability of pain.

The scars become evident the next day

And the blade digs deeper the same night.

The grip around my neck solidifies

As I prepare to go into the night.

Yet, in the morning I whisper these words,

“Time doesn’t control me, I control time.”

But as winter morphs into summer

And the layers have to be surrendered,

All the bruises and all the scars

Will become my definition as they tear me asunder.

And when they offer me comfort

I’ll simply deny the truth.

They will never be able to comprehend why

Solidarity can be the greatest solitude.

Re-entering my chamber of self-inflicted pain,

I finally latched every single door shut.

I ponder over every victim of my affliction

Just waiting for the final cut.

– Rubani Kaur


Artwork Credit: Unknown

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Its phenomenal. The way you described it, it just miraculous.
    Enigma

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are very kind! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, I only speak the truth!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Brave and Reckless and commented:
    The poetry goddesses have been good to me today. Please also meet Rubani Kaur at Eccentric Devil.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rubani Kaur– I am Christine at Brave and Reckless. I am sooooooo sorry my spam folder ate your comment! Loving your blog, feeling the synergy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, Christine! Thank you so much! I’m glad you’re liking it. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love these lines, Rubani Kaur. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

