Playing Pretend? : A Poem

playing-pretend.jpg

Can the world stop turning just for me?

Can they all stop breathing for a moment?

Can I listen to the sound of my dilapidated soul

And find something just a tad kindred?

Have you ever believed in miracles?

Have you ever experienced pain?

Truth be told, I’ll be titled a liar

If I said I knew how much it actually ached.

According to the grapevine, you need heartbreak

To really feel your heart break.

And here I am, lying to myself and everybody else,

Being labelled a deceitful hypocrite.

So, can the laws of nature be defied for once?

Can I find some solace in seclusion?

Can I let corporeal pain overpower the intangible

And revive an ingenuous cadaver?

– Rubani Kaur


Artwork Credit: Unknown

Leave a Reply

