Will They Remember?: A Poem

Will They Remember.JPG

I breathe in the air every day,

I soak in the beauty of the universe,

I let the world engulf me

As I hear the sound of the swallow’s verse.

I know I’ll forget how it feels

When the sun wakes up from its slumber.

My memories will be put to rest

And I’ll be left counting numbers.

But I don’t mind the oblivion,

In fact, I’ll happily forget.

Some memories should remain memories

So that there’s no more regret.

What bothers me most

Isn’t the amnesia of the beautiful sights.

It’s the curiosity of the fact that when I die

They won’t think of me as they sleep at night.

I hope that they don’t forget it all

When the sun wakes up from its slumber,

And as my heart beats one last time

They’ll never forget to remember.

– Rubani Kaur


Photography Credit: Yours Truly

Leave a Reply

