We Would Survive: A Poem

For days I felt broken,

Devastated even.

A hopeless heart

Accompanied by a sad soul.

I was willing

To give it all up,

But then I saw that light

People keep talking about.

Only, it didn’t take my life,

It nurtured it.

And I’ll try not to lose touch

With my tiny bit of sunshine.

They call it friendship.

I think I’ll call it

Hope,

Purpose,

My everything.

Because first, she came,

Made me smile again

And then one day,

The three of them,

Together,

Saved my life.

And all we did was talk

And laugh.

But I swear,

We all knew that

We would survive.

– Rubani Kaur


Photography Credit: Yours Truly

Leave a Reply

