In Honor of Teachers’ Day…: A Poem

The golden days, they called them,

But the real question was why.

It wasn’t just because of the childish innocence

But for the days of learning that passed us by.

Twinkle, twinkle, oh, little star,

I now wonder what you are

Because today, I have the ability

To look perceptively beyond those stars.

A reluctance so tenacious

Followed by a relationship so profound.

Within the thresholds of these walls

We transformed our imagination and made it unbound.

Today as I write these words,

My mind drifts back to my early years

Because it was then that my wordless soul was crafted

And the knowledge was so effectively seared.

To say that I am grateful

Would be belittling what I actually feel,

Because what can I say to the educators

Who actually taught me how to speak?

People wish to view the seven wonders

And embrace their beautiful sceneries,

But I don’t need to look at them

When even greater wonders are standing right in front of me.

All I can say now is that

These words are due to your very inspiration,

Because had it not been for you,

I would have remained an unambitious mutation.

– Rubani Kaur

2 Comments Add yours

  1. G~ says:

    Hello there. Well written! 👍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

